If you have been charged with drunk driving two or more times, it is critical for you to confront these charges with appropriate legal help. While you are facing a serious legal situation, repeat DUI offenders still have legal options by which they may be able to seek lesser penalties. The key to successfully defending against these types of charges necessitates securing experienced legal counsel as soon as possible after an arrest.
If you have previously been convicted of drunk driving in Tennessee, the potential penalties will be significantly more severe than they were the first time. If convicted a second time, you will face a mandatory jail sentence of at least 45 days. You will be required to attend DUI school and face a license suspension of two years. Fines can be as high as $3,500.
Should you find yourself facing drunk driving charges for a fourth time or more, you will be charged with felony DUI. The penalties for a felony charge are significantly higher and include jail time and a permanent mark on your criminal record. There are additional penalties that may come with the possible classification of a habitual motor vehicle offender.
Repeat DUI offenders in Tennessee still have rights, and these entitlements are better protected with the help of an experienced lawyer. Despite what you may think, these charges can be fought, and it is possible to seek an outcome that may include less severe charges or fewer, less serious penalties. It is important to understand your legal options, which is best done through a complete case evaluation with an experienced, tenacious drunk driving defense lawyer.