Any time a driver is arrested and charged with a crime, even a seemingly minor one, it is important to take the matter seriously. Criminal charges of any kind can have an impact on a driver’s future, making it important to properly defend oneself against any charge. This includes a first-time drunk driving charge, which, if a conviction occurs, can have serious consequences in Tennessee. 

It can be tempting to consider a first DUI as a relatively common and minor infraction. In reality, this charge can bring consequences that include a possible prison sentence of more than 11 months, fines of as much as $1,500 and mandatory attendance at an alcohol treatment program. It may also include a one-year suspension of a person’s driver’s license.

Any of these penalties alone can have a major impact on a person’s life. In combination, they will almost certainly impact a person’s career, freedom, child custody arrangement and reputation. Fortunately, with the help of an experienced lawyer, it is possible to confront these charges and seek the most favorable outcome according to the details of the individual situation.

Depending on the circumstances of your drunk driving case, it may be possible to seek lesser penalties or move to have the charges against you reduced. A Tennessee attorney with experience in criminal law and drunk driving defense is your most valuable ally during this time, and you would be wise to seek this assistance as soon as possible after an arrest. If you have been charged and would like to know about your defense options, you can schedule an appointment with a member of our team.