If you have been charged with a DUI for the first time, you may assume that your legal situation is relatively minor. While the penalties for a first-time drunk driving offense may be less severe than a felony or multiple DUI charge, it is important to act wisely about the potential consequences. Tennessee laws are strict, and even first-time offenders will likely benefit from legal guidance.
When a person is convicted of drunk driving for the first time in Tennessee, possible penalties include prison time, steep fines, mandatory driver safety school and loss of one's drivers' license. The potential prison sentence can be as much as 11 months, and fines are high as $1,500. The consequences are costly, both financially and otherwise. Clearly, they warrant the help of a lawyer experienced in confronting DUI charges and seeking positive results.
In Tennessee, drivers can lose their drivers' license if they refuse to submit to a Breathalyzer test, per the implied consent law. It is possible to protect your right to drive or get an occupational license that you may need for work or school, but it is important to act quickly. With our extensive experience fighting DUI charges, we can be the ally that you need.
Drunk driving penalties can affect every area of your life, personally and professionally, even if it is your first offense. Find out how to protect your livelihood, reputation and right to drive by seeking help as soon as possible after an arrest. When your future is on the line, do not risk it by facing DUI charges alone.