In Tennessee, a driver may be charged with vehicular homicide if he or she causes a fatal automobile accident while under the influence of alcohol. The driver could face a vehicular homicide charge, along with other charges, if his or her blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is found to have been .08 percent or higher at the time of the crash. This particular charge is considered to be a class B felony, carrying serious penalties in the event of a conviction.
There are many external factors that can contribute to a fatal crash. Law enforcement officers may ask that a driver submit to a BAC test in order to determine if drugs or alcohol factored into the incident. By understanding the potential penalties for vehicular homicide in Tennessee, a driver can make informed decisions regarding an appropriate defense strategy.
Drivers convicted of vehicular homicide will face the loss of driving privileges. The drivers’ license will be revoked for three to 10 years, the actual length of time determined by the individual details of the case. There is no restricted license available to drivers convicted of this crime, and other various penalties are possible, including jail time.
Vehicular homicide is a serious charge, but an accused individual always has the right to confront the criminal charges with a defense that is uniquely suited to his or her needs. There are various options for a DUI defense, including considering a plea agreement. To understand all possibilities according to a specific situation, a case evaluation with an experienced DUI defense lawyer is a good first step.
Source: tn.gov, “DUI Offenses“, Accessed on March 9, 2015