Tennessee has recently passed stricter laws for drivers who are arrested for driving under the influence. These new drunk driving laws went into effect at the beginning of this month, and they will bring stricter penalties for those who are convicted. Repeat DUI offenders would be wise to take steps to protect their rights and interests in the event that they are charged with drunk driving.
Prosecutors routinely offer deals to low-level drug offenders in exchange for pleading guilty. The plea may include a fine and little or no jail time. But is it a good deal if you have to plead guilty?
A Tennessee woman is facing criminal charges after an accident involving a golf cart claimed the life of her husband. She was charged with drunk driving and vehicular assault. The man was taken by helicopter to the hospital for medical treatment, but he was unable to overcome the severity of his injuries and died a few days later.
If you have been charged with drunk driving two or more times, it is critical for you to confront these charges with appropriate legal help. While you are facing a serious legal situation, repeat DUI offenders still have legal options by which they may be able to seek lesser penalties. The key to successfully defending against these types of charges necessitates securing experienced legal counsel as soon as possible after an arrest.
The penalties for drunk driving in Tennessee are steep, and it is important for those facing charges to protect their rights by understanding the factors involved in their case. Blood alcohol content (BAC) is the measure used to determine how much alcohol is in a person's system and could be grounds for an arrest if it is measured at .08 percent or higher. In some cases, a driver could face charges even if the BAC level is lower than .08 percent.